Helena Township Planning Commission By-Laws as Revised on _February 2, 2023__

- 1. This commission shall be known as the Helena Township Planning Commission.
- 2. The Planning Commission shall meet the first Thursday of every month at 5:00 pm in the Helena Township Community Center, governmental room.
- 3. The commission consists of seven (7) regular members appointed by the Supervisor and ratified by the Township Board.
- 4. The commissioners shall serve one (1), two (2), three (3), or Four (4) year terms, as directed by the Township Board.
- 5. The terms shall commence the first meeting after appointed by the Township Board and end when term expires.
- 6. At the March meeting, the commission shall elect from its membership a chairman, vice chairman, and secretary.
- 7. The chairman shall conduct all meetings according to MTA'S Rules of Order.
- 8. The vice chairman shall preside in the absence of the chairman.
- 9. The chairman may appoint committees as necessary. Such committees shall expire upon completion of job assignment or at the end of the year unless extended by commission action.

10. Conflict of Interest

Before casting a vote on a matter on which a planning commission member may reasonably be considered to have a conflict of interest, the member shall disclose the potential conflict of interest to the planning commission. Failure of a member to disclose a potential conflict of interest as required by these bylaws constitutes malfeasance in office.

11. These by-laws may be altered, amended, or repealed by a majority of the commission present and the concurrence of the Township Board.