Planning Commission Minutes – July 7, 2016

      Comments Off on Planning Commission Minutes – July 7, 2016

Helena Township Planning Commission

July 7, 2016

Gurr called meeting to order at 7:00 pm

Opened with Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll Call:                               Present:                 Jim Gurr                        Bonnie Robbins

Mike Robinson             Chris Dewald

Ken Renaud

Absent:                  Rodger Dewey

Township officials present:                               Molby

Approval of Agenda:  Motion: Renaud, 2nd: Dewald. Carried

Statement of Conflict of Interest: None     

Approval of Minutes:       Approved as submitted. Motion: Renaud, 2nd Dewald. Carried

Public Comment:               4 present. Tip of the Mitt will provide a public forum on August 9 on septic systems. This will be at a joint meeting of the Elk Rapids Village and Township. Information available on their website.

Communications:             MTA training in Graying on August 17th. Contact Rick Teague if interested in attending.

New Business:

June 2016:

Land Use 0, Field Checks 3, Attorney Contacts 0, Public Contacts 7, Zoning Violations 0

Molby asked about allowing a private company to access the neighbor’s dock south of the Valley Street public access at Depot Park. This should be addressed through the township office and state/county regulating departments to coordinate the work and address use of township property.

Old Business:

Zoning ordinance review topics:

  • Private road easement: will be revisited
  • Fences: Discussed. No language change in ordinance.
  •  Setbacks: Discussed. Building and use regulated by other agencies. No language change.
  •  Fine Language: Discussed. No language change in ordinance
  •  Signs: to be discussed at August meeting.
  •  Bullets identifying use in Districts: to be discussed at August meeting.

Public Comment:              Laura Westerman and Joe Bassil attended and are interested in becoming members of the commission. They would replace Bob Johnson and Rodger Dewey.

Adjourn: 7:45 p.m. Motion Dewald, 2nd Renaud. Carried

Respectfully Submitted,

Bonnie Robbins, Helena Township Planning Commission Recording Secretary